An Undersea Repose 3

A couple of weeks ago, I posted a new mermaid painting that was a revised painting from 2006. After I put a final coat of varnish onthe painting, I noticed a bit of pull of and smudging of paint even though I waited over 24 hours to varnish. Grrr. ANyway, I had to put a coat of clear gesso over the varnish and repaint her face and skin. Then I let it cure for a week before varnishing it. This time it is great. Possibly no one would have noticed the slight imperfections but I did so the additional work was worth it. Obviously the face  is slightly different after reworking but I like it better. She has a more ethereal expression.
A couple of weeks ago, I posted a new mermaid painting that was a revised painting from 2006. After I put a final coat of varnish onthe painting, I noticed a bit of pull of and smudging of paint even though I waited over 24 hours to varnish. Grrr. ANyway, I had to put a coat of clear gesso over the varnish and repaint her face and skin. Then I let it cure for a week before varnishing it. This time it is great. Possibly no one would have noticed the slight imperfections but I did so the additional work was worth it. Obviously the face is slightly different after reworking but I like it better. She has a more ethereal expression.
2 thoughts on “An Undersea Repose 3

Leave a Reply

