How to get approval on commissioned artworks

Sometimes, I get a request from a new client for paintings to to painted to go into a certain area in their home. This time, there was built in recesses in the huge wall by the stairwell entrance so I had to have my canvases custom stretched. I went to the home and took some snapshots of the wall and then used a few of my existing paintings that they liked to see what direction to go. Showing them how they would look on the wall gave them a visual that they could approve before I actually started on the paintings. They ended up choosing for me to paint a palm like on the first example and the waterway with palms reflecting on the second example.
Sometimes, I get a request from a new client for paintings to to painted to go into a certain area in their home. This time, there was built in recesses in the huge wall by the stairwell entrance so I had to have my canvases custom stretched. I went to the home and took some snapshots of the wall and then used a few of my existing paintings that they liked to see what direction to go. Showing them how they would look on the wall gave them a visual that they could approve before I actually started on the paintings. They ended up choosing for me to paint a palm like on the first example and the waterway with palms reflecting on the second example.

Ulrich comp Palm Reflection LO

Leave a Reply

