Growing up Sailing

I must apologize if I have been posting too much. There are two reasons: I have been nostalgic for a week and scanning a lot of old photos. ANd two: I have been intruged with sailing a bit since I live in Florida and do not have access to a sailboat. I do miss sailing ...as a child, my large family sailed up and down the coast of California and upper Mexico. My dad had purchased the old classic yacht at an auction when I was small. We started with an eight meter "The Marin" and traded up to a 60 foot classic yacht built in Germany in 1926. It had teak decks, beautifully varnished rosewood and oaks and was very fast. We raced a lot and enjoyed the excitement. WIth eight kids, my mom and dad encouraged exploring and inventing. We had a continuous stream of incredible experiences.
I must apologize if I have been posting too much. There are two reasons: I have been nostalgic for a week and scanning a lot of old photos. And two: I have been intrigued with sailing a bit since I live in Florida and do not have access to a sailboat. I do miss sailing …as a child, my large family sailed up and down the coast of California and upper Mexico. My dad had purchased the old classic yacht at an auction when I was small. We started with an eight meter “The Marin” and traded up to a 60 foot classic yacht “Branta” –built in Germany in 1926. It had teak decks, beautifully varnished rosewood and oaks and was very fast. We raced a lot and enjoyed the excitement, learned to work as a team and be competitive sailors. There were always chores to keep the boat in ship shape like polishing the chrome and stowing the sails and gear neatly, keeping our things stowed compactly and helping with the other chores. With eight kids, my mom and dad encouraged exploring and inventing, and getting along. Sleeping on deck or toe to toe in a cramped half bunk with brothers and sisters was done with no complaining. The boat only had a built in ice chest so we had to be careful to preserve food stores especially when sailing for a week or two. I have fond memories of trips to Catalina and Santa Cruz Islands where we would be set ashore to hike and play, explore seal caves, dive, collect moonstones, have grand pirate parties with other yacht and sailing club families. Most evenings, we would gather to have play and “cocktail hour” with friends from other boats while the sun went down. There was no shower so bathing in salt water worked just fine.  Fishing was important since we did not have a lot of space for food and we all cleaned whatever we caught from our primitive drop lines and bread balls for bait.  My dad was a huge conservationist and taught us not to take more than we needed …only take a few abalones for dinner so that the natural supply was not fished out. There were some high adventures over the years with storms and accidents and my dad was always so calm. We had a continuous stream of incredible experiences in which I am so very much thankful for.

p39-45 10meters_1205.indd Branta deck Branta san diego branta teak deck Dad at Avalon p39-45 10meters_1205.indd Family on Catalina fishing Moonstone cove Foresail folds spinnaker pole topaz winch handle

2 thoughts on “Growing up Sailing

  1. Linda, can’t tell you the good memories I have of Unc, the family, and the trips on Branta. I was blessed to have been part of it. Cuz Kelsey

    Like

Leave a Reply

