Life Saver ~ Large Original Triptych Painting

I have been working on this triptych painting for a couple months now in between smaller pieces. Since each panel is 30x40", it was difficult to paint the transitions between the three panels. Only one panel could fit on my easel at a time and I realized that my 10x14 foot studio was too small. OK, so I have studio envy of artists that have large walls to work on. Usually its not a problem since I have 2 sturdy  professional easels and a large rocking chair that I can sit back and ponder what needs to be worked on next, while listening to music. My studio is in my backyard garden and I am so grateful to have this wonderful little building. I will show a few pics in my next post.  Anyway, about this painting...I was doing a series of water and wave paintings (you can scroll back a bit to see those paintings) and I had met a couple who wanted something larger than the 40x30 paintings that were done for a gallery show so I thought I would try. Working rather energetically, I wanted to keep the abstract elements and feeling... did not want to overwork the details and wanted to keep the energy of the brushstrokes, emulating the energy of the fluid movements in waves. The ocean is so powerful and so many people do not respect the forces of nature and end up needing life saving.
I have been working on this 90×40″ triptych painting for a couple months now in between smaller pieces. Since each panel is 30×40″, it was difficult to paint the transitions between the three panels. Only one panel could fit on my easel at a time and I realized that my 10×14 foot studio was too small. OK, so I have studio envy of artists that have large walls to work on. Usually its not a problem since I have 2 sturdy professional easels and a large rocking chair that I can sit back and ponder what needs to be worked on next, while listening to music. My studio is in my backyard garden and I am so grateful to have this wonderful little building. I will show a few pics in my next post. Anyway, about this painting…I was doing a series of water and wave paintings (you can scroll back a bit to see those paintings) and I had met a couple who wanted something larger than the 40×30 paintings that were done for a gallery show so I thought I would try. Working rather energetically, I wanted to keep the abstract elements and feeling… did not want to overwork the details and wanted to keep the energy of the brushstrokes, emulating the energy of the fluid movements in waves. The ocean is so powerful and so many people do not respect the forces of nature and end up needing life saving.

Life saver detail

Leave a Reply

