Mermaid Painting altered

Several years ago, I did a painting called "Nicole le Mer" and thought it was completed. This week, I revisted it, put clear gesso on all of it and then repainted it. First of all, I thought her skin was too tan and needed to be paler..afterall, under the sea, mermaids do not bask in the sun. Also, I wanted more movement and fish to the painting. I thought she needed some jewelry and instead of holding seaweed in her hand, I thought that she could be holding a bouquet of starfish flowers. It was a fun two days of tweeking and repainting until I felt that it was finally completed. I did take a few snapshots of the progression of improvements. I teach seniors to paint and have a few students who ask me "Is it done?. ONly the artist can answer that and frankly, sometimes the artist is just DONE. Revisiting older paintings is usually a good thing to do, especially when you are not thrilled with the DONE painting. Put it aside and wait until you are inspired again. What do you think? It is 24x48" gallery wrap so no frame is necessary since the mermaid painting continues on the 1.5" edges.
Several years ago, I did a painting called “Nicole le Mer” and thought it was completed. This week, I revisted it, put clear gesso on all of it and then repainted it. First of all, I thought her skin was too tan and needed to be paler..afterall, under the sea, mermaids do not bask in the sun. Also, I wanted more movement and fish to the painting. I thought she needed some jewelry and instead of holding seaweed in her hand, I thought that she could be holding a bouquet of starfish flowers. It was a fun two days of tweeking and repainting until I felt that it was finally completed. I did take a few snapshots of the progression of improvements. I teach seniors to paint and have a few students who ask me “Is it done?. ONly the artist can answer that and frankly, sometimes the artist is just DONE. Revisiting older paintings is usually a good thing to do, especially when you are not thrilled with the DONE painting. Put it aside and wait until you are inspired again. What do you think?
It is 24×48″ gallery wrap so no frame is necessary since the mermaid painting continues on the 1.5″ edges.

Nicole le Mer progression

3 thoughts on “Mermaid Painting altered

      1. You’re work is amazing. I totally understand about what is in your head. Sometimes, I want a particular feel to my images and I just can’t get it. I think we are tough on ourselves. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

