Egret at Night painting has a deco style

I teach seniors to paint and have done so for the last decade. Last month, we explored painting birds and painting feathers. It was so interesting to see everyone's take on painting from the same photograph that I had shot at a wildlife refuge.  Next class is Tuesday next, so hopefully, I can get the class to bring in their paintings and I will show you all the different creations. Everyone in the class has different styles so allowing those styles to blossom is important. Copying exactly is not the goal. My painting evolved into a night scene and as I worked, I found the bright brush strokes of interest so I started enhancing them and them keeping the energy in the painting but NOT blending realistically. I started to go with a more ART DECO, South Florida feeling. Since it evolved into a night scene form the original photograph taken in the afternoon, I added the moon and stars and kept the tones dark yet with brilliant highlights. This painting is a standard gallery wrap 24x36". Original and prints will be available on demand.
I teach seniors to paint and have done so for the last decade. Last month, we explored painting birds and painting feathers. It was so interesting to see everyone’s take on painting from the same photograph that I had shot at a wildlife refuge. Next class is Tuesday next, so hopefully, I can get the class to bring in their paintings and I will show you all the different creations. Everyone in the class has different styles so allowing those styles to blossom is important. Copying exactly is not the goal. My painting evolved into a night scene and as I worked, I found the bright brush strokes of interest so I started enhancing them and them keeping the energy in the painting but NOT blending realistically. I started to go with a more ART DECO, South Florida feeling. Since it evolved into a night scene form the original photograph taken in the afternoon, I added the moon and stars and kept the tones dark yet with brilliant highlights. This painting is a standard gallery wrap 24×36″. Original and prints will be available on demand.
Leave a Reply

