Underwater art explorations

"Jellies at the Ball" is 45x16" gallery wrap and is the first in a series of underwater jelly fish, fish and various other creatures. I started this painting last month and had wanted it to be an abstract but as I worked on it, more details started to appear. I have painted this subject before but wanted the tendrils to be three dimensional so I found some squeeze bottles and squeezed the flowing tendrils onto the canvas. When experimenting with new techniques, its always scary because frankly, you just don't know if it will be a mistake. Then you work at analyzing what works and what doesn't and the creative process takes over of decision making. I used a lot of metallic paints that change in different lighting. The mini fish swimming around the jellyfish create more movement. Hope you like this since I am not done exploring and want to see whats next?
“Jellies at the Ball” is 45×16″ gallery wrap and is the first in a series of underwater jelly fish, fish and various other creatures. I started this painting last month and had wanted it to be an abstract but as I worked on it, more details started to appear. I have painted this subject before but wanted the tendrils to be three dimensional so I found some squeeze bottles and squeezed the flowing tendrils onto the canvas. When experimenting with new techniques, its always scary because frankly, you just don’t know if it will be a mistake. Then you work at analyzing what works and what doesn’t and the creative process takes over of decision making. I used a lot of metallic paints that change in different lighting. The mini fish swimming around the jellyfish create more movement. Hope you like this since I am not done exploring and want to see whats next?
4 thoughts on “Underwater art explorations

  1. This is the most beautiful painting I’ve ever seen. I love jellies so much and this is exquisite – simply wow. Love and bubbles, PT xxx pinktankscuba.com

    Like

      1. I would absolutely love to own it, but unfortunately due to health issues I am not purchasing anything at the moment. It truly is exquisite though! I’ve never seen anything so special 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

