Painting Lesson with Palette Knife

This is a DYptic painting I have been working on for a couple weeks of an ocean scene. I am actually not completely finished but wanted to share my progress and possibly give a little tutorial for my painting students. SInce each panel is 30x40", its actually more difficult because of studio space and with matching the two panels for a nice transition. Palette Knife takes a lot of paint which gets quite expensive so I start with the modeling paste to give more 3-dimensionality. AT first I thought the peach sky and sand was too much color but there are a lot of vibrant dabs of color throughout so now I am re assessing. Opinions?
This is a DYptic painting I have been working on for a couple weeks of an ocean scene. I am actually not completely finished but wanted to share my progress and possibly give a little tutorial for my painting students. Since each panel is 30×40″, its actually more difficult because of studio space and with matching the two panels for a nice transition. Palette Knife takes a lot of paint which gets quite expensive so I start with the modeling paste to give more 3-dimensionality. AT first I thought the peach sky and sand was too much color but there are a lot of vibrant dabs of color throughout so now I am reassessing. Opinions?
2 thoughts on “Painting Lesson with Palette Knife

Leave a Reply

