Abstract paintings involve a very intense process

"Sailboat Race" is 30x40". Its is a mixed media painting with added cheesecloth, plaster, colored gesso, metal powders, acrylic paints, glazes and varnishes. FOr several intense days of exploring and hating the results, I finally finished it and am thrilled with the results. The sailboats came at the end as I discovered a happy accident of triangular shapes among the brush stokes of gold. Then, thoughts of my childhood, racing with a thousand boats to Mexico every year (Ensenada Race) came into play. Abstracts constantly evolve and change as exploration of techniques occurs. There are stages that I really thought it was a disaster. I wish I had photographed the evolution of this painting as it started out as a primarily red canvas.
“Sailboat Race” is 30×40″. Its is a mixed media painting with added cheesecloth, plaster, colored gesso, metal powders, acrylic paints, glazes and varnishes. FOr several intense days of exploring and hating the results, I finally finished it and am thrilled with the results. The sailboats came at the end as I discovered a happy accident of triangular shapes among the brush stokes of gold. Then, thoughts of my childhood, racing with a thousand boats to Mexico every year (Ensenada Race) came into play. Abstracts constantly evolve and change as exploration of techniques occurs. There are stages that I really thought it was a disaster. I wish I had photographed the evolution of this painting as it started out as a primarily red canvas.
Leave a Reply

