Abstract of mountain scene with palette knife

I really enjoyed working on this painting which I started after I completed the commission for Vicki of an abstract waterfall. I was inspired to explore more possibilities. This is 20x60" with lots of texture. I started with a quality gallery wrap canvas and sketched the basic nature scene with a waterfall as central element. Then I put flexible modeling paste with various knives. I kept with the drawing so the details became sculptural. Then I added orange paint to white gesso and coated the plaster and canvas so I had a totally orange surface. After couple more days of drying, I was able to start painting with huge brushes and knives. It evolved daily for another week. I am just about to put the final varnish on it.
I really enjoyed working on this painting which I started after I completed the commission for Vicki of an abstract waterfall. I was inspired to explore more possibilities. This is 20×60″ with lots of texture. I started with a quality gallery wrap canvas and sketched the basic nature scene with a waterfall as central element. Then I put flexible modeling paste with various knives. I kept with the drawing so the details became sculptural. Then I added orange paint to white gesso and coated the plaster and canvas so I had a totally orange surface. After couple more days of drying, I was able to start painting with huge brushes and knives. It evolved daily for another week. I am just about to put the final varnish on it.

Waterfall Canyon detail

One thought on “Abstract of mountain scene with palette knife

Leave a Reply

