Commission to embellish a canvas giclee

Ana from California fell in love with one of my mermaid paintings but the original had been sold. She also wanted to have me add sea glass and shells to the canvas. I had a printer print the canvas and back it with a hardboard. This way I could glue the glass and shells on it without them coming off later. Then I prepared some thick epoxy resin to coat the entire surface which also acted as a bounding agent for the 3 dimensional objects. Its quite a process to work with epoxy. You have to raise the painting off a surface to catch the dripping epoxy and be able to scrape the edges.  A heat gun is also necessary to remove bubbles after pouring the prepared epoxy. It took two more days to set up and harden but looks gorgeous! Very shiney!
Ana from California fell in love with one of my mermaid paintings but the original had been sold. She also wanted to have me add sea glass and shells to the canvas. I had a printer print the canvas and back it with a hardboard. This way I could glue the glass and shells on it without them coming off later. Then I prepared some thick epoxy resin to coat the entire surface which also acted as a bounding agent for the 3 dimensional objects. Its quite a process to work with epoxy. You have to raise the painting off a surface to catch the dripping epoxy and be able to scrape the edges. A heat gun is also necessary to remove bubbles after pouring the prepared epoxy. It took two more days to set up and harden but looks gorgeous! Very shiney!
Leave a Reply

