Boating themed painting brings back memories

This new painting that I started on Tuesday morning came to a nice conclusion this afternoon. Originally, I had a photo reference of just a rowboat on a beach in the daylight. AS I started this on a black gessoed canvas and was going to go from dark to light, shapes of the island appeared while I was brushing on the blues in the water and then I decided to make it a night scene with a full moon. I spend most of my childhood on the water, sailing with my family and I always loved the evenings that we so still with the moon shining on the water forming sparkley twinkles. Being on the ocean with the waves gently rocking the boat and the sea breeze plays its sweet music. "Magical Moonlight". 24x36
This new painting that I started on Tuesday morning came to a nice conclusion this afternoon. Originally, I had a photo reference of just a rowboat on a beach in the daylight. AS I started this on a black gessoed canvas and was going to go from dark to light, shapes of the island appeared while I was brushing on the blues in the water and then I decided to make it a night scene with a full moon. I spent most of my childhood on the water, sailing with my family and I always loved the evenings that were so still with the moon shining on the water forming sparkly twinkles. Being on the ocean with the waves gently rocking the boat and the sea breeze playing its sweet music was blissful. “Magical Moonlight”. 24×36
Leave a Reply

