Large ocean painting with tutorial

Most of my ocean tides themed art have many layers of glazes and thick art with a hint of metallics. "Hunting for Crabs" is 60" tall and 48" wide so will fit on a large wall nicely. The last photo shows some of the painting progressions. I started with a colored gesso over the white gallery wrap canvas. I just add acrylic paint with white gesso. This gives a lovely coloring behind the added pastels. I like to add the strokes horizontally with the flat edge of my brushes. Sometimes my brush strokes use the wide part and scrape the paint on rather than brush it. Large paintings like this take a lot more physicality and is exhausting. Usually I wear my back brace while painting so my back does not get too stressed. When taking breaks, I sit in my rocking chair and study what needs to be done. Backing up far away also gives a better look at what needs to be worked on. All this up and down and back and close movement take a lot of energy so breaks are needed. Music is always on so sometimes I dance around a bit (loosening up my muscles). Its called artWORK for a reason.
Most of my ocean tides themed art have many layers of glazes and thick art with a hint of metallics. “Hunting for Crabs” is 60″ tall and 48″ wide so will fit on a large wall nicely. The last photo shows some of the painting progressions. I started with a colored gesso over the white gallery wrap canvas. I just add acrylic paint with white gesso. This gives a lovely coloring behind the added pastels. I like to add the strokes horizontally with the flat edge of my brushes. Sometimes my brush strokes use the wide part and scrape the paint on rather than brush it. The final medium was adding paint to a coarse gritty medium and using a palette knife to add the details. Large paintings like this take a lot more physicality and is exhausting. Usually I wear my back brace while painting so my back does not get too stressed. When taking breaks, I sit in my rocking chair and study what needs to be done. Backing up far away also gives a better look at what needs to be worked on. All this up and down and back and close movement take a lot of energy so breaks are needed. Music is always on so sometimes I dance around a bit (loosening up my muscles). Its called artWORK for a reason!

 

Hunting for Crabs Decor Hunting for Crabs detail Hunting for Crabs pipers painting progress

Leave a Reply

