Abstract Painting with Ocean theme

Lately I have been slightly obsessed with ocean themed art and in my mind, I wanted to keep it very abstract. Sometimes, I start a painting out with very abstract brush strokes and the more I work, the more details are introduced. I did this entire painting with a 2 inch old ratty brush that I bought from a hardware store, Most of the bristles have fallen out of stiffened by age. I did the initial stroked in dry brush and then added details with a palette knife. It is 30x40".
Lately I have been slightly obsessed with ocean themed art and in my mind, I wanted to keep it very abstract. Sometimes, I start a painting out with very abstract brush strokes and the more I work, the more details are introduced. I did this entire painting with a 2 inch old ratty brush that I bought from a hardware store.┬áMost of the bristles have fallen out of stiffened by age. I did the initial stroked in dry brush over a canvas gessoed with Black Gesso, added transparent glazes and metallic, irridescent acrylic paints and then added details with a palette knife. It is 30×40″.

silken-detail silken-modern-decor

Leave a Reply

