Dunes series has been a project all month

Not sure if I am correct but I heard that Monet did over 350 water lilies and pond paintings. So I decided to pick a landscape and explore different techniques and colorings of the same scene. I also incorporated this lesson while teaching my art students in October. One was started as a black and white painting and then thin colored glazes were added in thin colors. Once one layer was dry another color glaze was added for a luminous look. One was done with no seaoat strokes and large brush with thick paint. There were so many ideas that I wanted to attempt…
All of these are 8×8″gallery wraps. I made of the scenes without photos and had to figure out where the light would hit, etc. Let the lesson continue!!

I recommend doing this project. Choose any subject. Its all about the techniques. I learned a lot already and want to continue…

This was stage one before they were all completed.

Leave a comment